San Cesareo de Appia

San Cesareo in Palatio or San Caesareo de Appia (Italian:[santʃeˈzaːreodeˈappja]) is a titular church in Rome dedicated to Saint Caesarius of Terracina, a 2nd-century deacon and martyr. It is located near Casina del Cardinal Bessarione on Via di Porta San Sebastiano and the beginning of the Appian Way. The present church was constructed in the early 17th century, but the church could trace its origin to the 4th century.

History

Origins

Side view
Painting by Achille Pinelli (c. 1826–35)

In the 4th century, Emperor Valentinian I's daughter was cured at the shrine of Caesarius at Terracina, the site of his martyrdom. The emperor (who reigned in AD 364–375) then decided to move his relics to Rome. They were taken to a church on the Palatine Hill, and when they were later moved to a new church, that church got the name "in Palatio", "at the Palace". It is also known as San Cesareo de Appia.[1]

Excavations have revealed a Roman bath on the site from the 2nd or 3rd century, with a huge black and white mosaic depicting Neptune and marine creatures, along with foundations of what is thought to be the first church here, built in the 8th century.[2]

Medieval

No written evidence exists for the church's origins; it is first mentioned in the written sources in 1192. In the Middle Ages, the church was part of a hospice and hospital for pilgrims, and had a column in front of it to demonstrate this.

17th century

الكنيسة الحالية هي ثمرة أعمال ترميم جرت في عامي ١٦٠٢/١٦٠٣، تحت إشراف المؤرخ الكبير الكاردينال سيزار بارونيو ، [ ٣ ] الذي كان آنذاك أسقفًا فخريًا للكنيسة، ولا يزال منزله قائمًا حتى اليوم. أُضيف شعار النبالة الخاص بالبابا كليمنت الثامن ، المنتمي لعائلة ألدوبرانديني ، إلى السقف المُقَبَّب . وتُصوِّر اللوحة المركزية في السقف القديس قيصريوس. وعلى الرغم من فقدانها الآن بسبب التلوث، فقد أُضيفت في الفترة نفسها لوحات جدارية إلى الواجهة، وهي من أعمال جياكومو ديلا بورتا . يُحتمل أن يكون منبر كوزماتسكي ، والدرابزينات، وواجهة المذبح، وكرسي الأسقف خلف المذبح (باللون الأزرق الفاتح، وهو لون غير شائع في أعمال كوزماتسكي) قد جُلبت إلى هنا في ذلك الوقت من كنيسة سان جيوفاني في لاتيرانو ، عندما جرت أعمال ترميم في أجنحة الكنيسة هناك، مع احتمال أن تكون قد أتت من كنائس أخرى. اللوحات الموجودة بين النوافذ تعود أيضاً إلى القرن السابع عشر، من أعمال كافالييه داربينو وسيزار روسيتي ، [ 4 ] [ 5 ] وتصور استشهاد القديس قيصريوس والعديد من القديسين الذين يحملون اسم هيبوليتوس، تكريماً للبابا كليمنت الثامن، الذي كان اسمه عند التعميد إيبوليتو. وقد صمم كافالييه داربينو أيضاً الزخرفة النادرة في الفسيفساء، وهي صورة الله الآب . [ 6 ]

القرن العشرين

حدثت عملية ترميم أخرى في الفترة ما بين عامي 1955 و 1963.

كان يوحنا بولس الثاني الكاردينال الفخري لهذه الكنيسة.

قائمة الشمامسة الكرادلة

مراجع

  1. ^ جوجليلمو ماتياي، س. سيزاريو دي أبيا ، روما، Tipografia Artistica editorice، 1955
  2. ^ ماريانو أرميليني، Le chiese di Roma dal secolo IV al XIX ، روما 1891
  3. ^ باتريسيا توسيني، ألبرتو بيانكو، دانييل فيرارا، Arte e Commtenza nel Lazio nell'età di Cesare Baronio ، Roma، Gangemi، 2009
  4. ^ إي. أمادي، لا تشيزا دي إس . سيزاريو «دي أبيا»، في «الكابيتوليوم» ، 30 سنة 1955
  5. ب. توماسي، سان سيزاريو في بالاتيو ، روما، 1965
  6. دليل روما ؛ بقلم جون موراي، الطبعة الحادية عشرة (1872)، الصفحة 137.
  • "روما المتسول" - جولة افتراضية ذاتية التوجيه في كنيسة سان سيزارو دي أبيا وغيرها من الكنائس الرومانية